• Author
    Posts

  • GiftedVision
    Keymaster

    @giftedvision

    Hi
    I’m familiar with the solo rules, but I have a couple of questions RE the coop rules (I’ve read the updated rule book- just hoping for clarification). Would I best to ask here, or on the BGG forum?

    1. Is the maximum number of copies of uncommon & rare cards in dungeon deck 4?
    2. During ‘Step 2: Respond’ & ‘Step 3: Combat‘ steps:
    a. When playing crawler cards, is there a strict player order which must be followed, or can players play cards from their hand in any order they like? (as long as the group has the combined resources available to pay for them).
    b. Can a player only choose to activate their own 2 adventurers? (e.g. to attack or defend)
    c. I presume that (typically) players are still limited to inflicting one wound per round on the dungeon, so which player decides where to place the wound? (the primary adventurer?)

    1. Is the maximum number of copies of uncommon & rare cards in dungeon deck 4?

    For CO-OP the maximum number of cards in each Cralwer deck is 3 (for any rarity). However, you can have up to 8 common or infrequent cards in the Dungeon deck, and yes 4 for uncommon and rare (and promo cards).

    When playing crawler cards, is there a strict player order which must be followed, or can players play cards from their hand in any order they like? (as long as the group has the combined resources available to pay for them).

    The turns in CO-OP are for who is facing the Retaliation from the Dungeon, so anyone can play Crawler cards in any order. The controlling player would have the final say in what is played.

    Can a player only choose to activate their own 2 adventurers? (e.g. to attack or defend)

    Yes. If for some reason the other players decide not to Activate their Adventurers, other players should not be overriding their control.

    I presume that (typically) players are still limited to inflicting one wound per round on the dungeon, so which player decides where to place the wound? (the primary adventurer?)

    The Controlling player (the one facing the Retaliation).

    • This topic was modified 1 month, 2 weeks ago by GiftedVision.

    miles
    Participant

    @miles

    “The turns in CO-OP are for who is facing the Retaliation from the Dungeon, so anyone can play Crawler cards in any order. The controlling player would have the final say in what is played.”
    So can anyone also play Crawler cards in any order during ‘Step 3.2 ADVENTURERS ATTACK’? The coop rules do seem to suggest this would be OK (I ask as you specifically mention the Dungeon Retaliation).


    GiftedVision
    Keymaster

    @giftedvision

    So can anyone also play Crawler cards in any order during ‘Step 3.2 ADVENTURERS ATTACK’? The coop rules do seem to suggest this would be OK (I ask as you specifically mention the Dungeon Retaliation).

    Yes, this is the intent.

    Resetting your Resources is where the difficulty ensues, as only the Controller gets to Reset at the end of their turn.


    miles
    Participant

    @miles

    By resetting your resources, do you just mean all the items listed in step 4:
    4.1 Drop cards from Hand 4.2 Remove cards from Play 4.3 Remove Time tokens 4.4 Remove Poison tokens 4.5 Reset Cards 4.6 Remove Lock tokens 4.7 Maintain Permanents 4.8 Draw up to your Hand Limit 4.9 Discard 4.10 END ROUND/GAME

    Or do you mean the resources used to pay for crawler cards?
    E.g. If a non controlling player plays magic long sword ( a non-permanent card) using 2 equipment resources, does that mean that they cannot remove the card from play until the end of the turn on which THEY are the controller? (Therefore in the meantime tying up the 2 resources used to pay for the card).


    GiftedVision
    Keymaster

    @giftedvision

    Everything in Step 4.


    miles
    Participant

    @miles

    Sorry I’m still not completely clear on usage of adventurer resources…

    “If a non controlling player plays magic long sword ( a non-permanent card) using 2 equipment resources”
    Would you please elaborate on what would happen in this example? Does the non-controlling player remove their played long sword at the end of the controlling players turn, thus freeing up the equipment resources for the following player?


    GiftedVision
    Keymaster

    @giftedvision

    Would you please elaborate on what would happen in this example? Does the non-controlling player remove their played long sword at the end of the controlling players turn, thus freeing up the equipment resources for the following player?

    No. Only the Controller resets.


    miles
    Participant

    @miles

    Brilliant thanks.


    miles
    Participant

    @miles

    Looking forward to trying out a coop game. Given the above ruling it does seem like resources will be incredibly scarce; in a 4 player coop game using the above example, it sounds like the 2 equipment resources are not available to any player for the next 4 rounds?! (and every round the dungeon is retaliating without restriction!).


    GiftedVision
    Keymaster

    @giftedvision

    And, if you and your co-op buddies find this level of play too difficult, it’s totally acceptable to make house-rules to make the game more enjoyable, and work your way up to official play. 🙂


    miles
    Participant

    @miles

    Compared to solo then, in 4 player co-op the players as a group will have 4X the number of player cards in hand, but 1/4 the resources available to play them… sounds challenging (I do like a challenge though).

    Final Question from me I think… p.31 of the revised rule book states that “Each player will have 2 Adventurers each”. Later the 3 player co-op table lists “Number of Adventurers” as “4”: what is the correct total number of Adventurers for a 4 player co-op game? (I presume it’s 8)

    Thanks for your assistance.

    • This reply was modified 1 month, 1 week ago by miles.
    • This reply was modified 1 month, 1 week ago by miles.
    • This reply was modified 1 month, 1 week ago by miles.

    miles
    Participant

    @miles

    Also…
    “If a non-controlling player plays their magic long sword (a non-permanent card) using 2 equipment resources”
    As the magic long sword is not removed until the end of the non-controlling players next round, does the sword still contribute it’s +4 melee power in each subsequent round until it is removed?


    GiftedVision
    Keymaster

    @giftedvision

    p.31 of the revised rule book states that “Each player will have 2 Adventurers each”. Later the 3 player co-op table lists “Number of Adventurers” as “4”: what is the correct total number of Adventurers for a 4 player co-op game? (I presume it’s 8)

    It’s always 2 Adventurers per player for co-op, those would be typos.

    As the magic long sword is not removed until the end of the non-controlling players next round, does the sword still contribute it’s +4 melee power in each subsequent round until it is removed?

    *Edit; this is incorrect, the long sword is only used against the dungeon once when played.

    • This reply was modified 3 weeks, 6 days ago by GiftedVision.
    • This reply was modified 3 weeks, 6 days ago by GiftedVision.

    miles
    Participant

    @miles

    “The turns in CO-OP are for who is facing the Retaliation from the Dungeon, so anyone can play Crawler cards in any order. The controlling player would have the final say in what is played.”

    Could you please recommend how to handle the following situations?

    – If 2 players both want to use a card which requires the same resources (there are not enough resources for both), does the controlling player have final say?

    – When the ‘ADVENTURERS ATTACK’ (step 3.2)… is it the controlling player who decides where any wound is placed?

    – Can the contorlling player choose to discard another player’s permanent cards that are in play (e.g. ‘Elite’)?


    GiftedVision
    Keymaster

    @giftedvision

    – If 2 players both want to use a card which requires the same resources (there are not enough resources for both), does the controlling player have final say?

    It’s a co-operative game, so you can discuss the best course of action, but if you can not decide the controlling player would have the choice.

    – When the ‘ADVENTURERS ATTACK’ (step 3.2)… is it the controlling player who decides where any wound is placed?

    Yes.

    – Can the contorlling player choose to discard another player’s permanent cards that are in play (e.g. ‘Elite’)?

    No, as the Resource would not be checked on the other players turn for their permanent card.

  • You must be logged in to reply to this topic.